Talking about the Free State Project

I was hanging out with a bunch of dirty hippies folk musicians in the woods all weekend. Then I put on a suit and went into Manhattan for a job interview (working from Portsmouth, fortunately). It was an entertaining chameleon act, and all very fun, but sadly, I missed the budget hearing Monday evening.

[Disclaimer: Some of my best friends are dirty hippies.]

There were several people from New Hampshire in the woods with me, and I had one particularly interesting conversation with a family from the Lakes Region. I don’t usually bring up the Free State Project when talking with NH residents; I don’t hide my membership, and have a few stickers on things promoting it, but it’s not the first thing I bring up when meeting folks.

So what was particularly interesting to me is that they brought it up. They had heard some of the rumors about various “Free Town Projects,” and that there had been an attempt to bring a lot of libertarians to a town near theirs, but that it had failed. (It is odd how many of these rumors are swirling around. As far as I know, there was only one such project by some FSP participants, with limited success, but it seems like every region of the state has some rumor about a town that was targeted.) But generally, their impression was very positive; they also mentioned that they had testified against the seat belt law, and had been impressed with Rich Tomasso’s testimony on behalf of the Libertarian Party of New Hampshire.

I’m always curious to hear what the locals think of the FSP, and it’s difficult to get a truly unbiased opinion from someone who knows you are part of the group; it’s also not always easy to bring up the subject in a non-awkward way, so this was a really nice chance to get that neutral read. It is only one data point—well, several, actually, but from the same family—but was interesting all the same.

2 Responses

  1. Nice to know someone outside the political system appreciates my work. :)

  2. I don’t know if I could claim that they’re outside, Rich, since they were (I believe) there to testify themselves. Nonetheless, don’t underestimate the reach that your testimony has (and, if I may say, your charisma). And for those of you playing along at home: one well-spoken libertarian can influence a hundred or a thousand people on the fence. So be well-spoken, and don’t be afraid to speak out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

